VMA MLCP Class of 2024 Graduates


NORFOLK, VA - On March 20, 2024, the Virginia Maritime Association (VMA) celebrated the graduation of the Maritime Leadership Certificate Program (MLCP) Class of 2024. Gilbert Bland, President and CEO of the Urban League of Hampton Roads, spoke about leadership to the graduating class as well as to the incoming Class of 2025.

Throughout the year, the MLCP Class of 2024 immersed themselves in the maritime industry through tours and hands-on experiences including tours of tugs, terminals, and shipyards, and offshore wind turbines. They honed adaptability and problem-solving skills in improv classes, learned negotiation tactics, and explored team dynamics. Additionally, graduates contributed to community and environmental initiatives by volunteering for Chesapeake Bay oyster restoration as well as other volunteer opportunities . They also engaged with policymakers during VMA's Port Day in Richmond, gaining insight into industry advocacy. Thanks to the support of VMA member companies and thought leaders, the MLCP Class of 2024 emerged with enhanced leadership skills and a deeper understanding of the maritime sector.

Congratulations to the MLCP Class of 2024! These MLCP graduates take away unforgettable memories, a deeper understanding of the maritime and supply chain industries, new leadership skills, and a lasting network of colleagues and friends. Congratulations on this accomplishment.


Congratulations to MLCP Class of 2024!

View Graduation Photos!



Maritime Leadership Certificate Program Class of 2024




Jill Aller

CMA CGM America

Andrew Jenkins

Givens Inc.

Katie Muniz

ZIM Integrated Shipping

Christopher Anderson

Maersk Line, Limited

Justin Jewell


Challis Nierman

Fairlead Ship Repair

Jennifer Brokaw

Moran Towing

Patrick Koch

Port of Virginia

(Virginia International Terminals)

Nate Reich

Fairlead Integrated

Henly Ervin

Maersk Line, Limited/

U.S. Marine Management, Inc.

Kevin McCormick

Fairlead Ship Repair

John Stauffer

Mid Atlantic Maritime Academy

Natasha Hackett

CMA CGM America

Keith McKenna

Truist Bank

Jason Strickland


Alexandra Hagerty

American Maritime Officers Union

Patrick Molloy


Andy Warren

Link Belt Mid Atlantic